Xref vs Referoo, side by side.
Two reference checking tools Australian agencies often weigh up. Here is what each one publishes about pricing, trials, integrations and where your data is held, and where Koho fits if references are one of several jobs you want off your desk.
At a glance
| Compared on | Xref | Referoo | Koho |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Reference checking, plus pulse and exit surveys, with Engage surveys as an add-on | Reference, background, ID, right-to-work and work-history checks in one hub | A reference checker, as one of five back-office modules for agencies |
| How it’s priced | Monthly subscription, banded by your organisation’s number of employees, with unlimited users and a cap on reference profiles (25 to 200, by plan) | Not published: you book a demo | One plan, per consultant per month, with no minimum seats |
| Published price | From A$105 a month billed annually (A$120 billed monthly) for 1–74 employees, with a cap of 25 reference profiles | Not published | A$49 per consultant a month, or A$39 a month on an annual plan, plus GST |
| Free trial | Offered; length not stated | 14 days | No trial: workspaces are opened by invitation |
| Custom questions | From the Plus plan (A$435 a month billed annually) | Yes: its free trial includes questionnaire customisation | On every plan, up to 40 questions per set |
| ATS integrations | Listed, including JobAdder, Bullhorn, Workday and PageUp; integration support from the Premium plan | Says it connects to HR and ATS platforms, and lists JobAdder as a partner | None yet |
| Where data is held | AWS in Australia, Germany, Canada or the United States, per its sub-processor list | Not stated | Database and files in Sydney |
From each vendor’s own website on 26 October 2026. Prices and plans change, so check with the vendor before you decide. Xref, Referoo are trademarks of their owners; Koho isn’t affiliated with them.
01Xref in short
Xref publishes its prices, which few in this market do. Plans are priced by the size of your organisation rather than per user, with unlimited users and a cap on reference profiles: 25 on Starter, rising to 200 on Premium. Custom questions start on the Plus plan, and ATS integration support and bulk upload on Premium. It lists a long set of integrations, JobAdder and Bullhorn among them, and holds ISO 27001 certification.
02Referoo in short
Referoo has grown from reference checks into a wider screening hub: references by email, phone or SMS, plus background, ID, right-to-work and work-history checks, with built-in fraud detection. It doesn’t publish prices, so you’ll need a demo for a quote, and it offers a 14-day free trial. It is ISO 27001 certified.
03Which one fits
- Xref if you want published pricing, a set cap on reference profiles, and an integration with your ATS today.
- Referoo if you want reference checks alongside background, ID and right-to-work checks from one provider.
- Koho if references are one of several jobs you want handled in one place: Koho also converts CVs to your template, gets terms of business signed, registers candidates and sends market notes, all under your brand. It doesn’t connect to an ATS yet, and it doesn’t run background or ID checks.
04How Koho handles references
Pick a candidate, add the referee they nominated and choose a question set. The referee answers a short form online, saving as they go, or asks for a call instead. Reminders go on day 3 and day 7, then Koho tells the consultant. Answers land on the candidate’s file, and one click sends the client a branded PDF. Referees’ answers are never read by an AI service. More on the reference checker.
Questions agencies ask.
Anything else? Ask us at hello@koho.au.
How much does Xref cost?
Xref’s pricing page lists Starter from A$105 a month billed annually (A$120 billed monthly) for organisations of 1–74 employees, with a cap of 25 reference profiles. Growth, Plus and Premium cost more and allow more profiles; Enterprise is priced on request.
How much does Referoo cost?
Referoo doesn’t publish its prices. Its website offers a demo and a 14-day free trial.
Which has a free trial?
Both. Referoo’s is 14 days. Xref offers one but doesn’t state its length on its pricing page.
Where is reference data stored?
Xref’s sub-processor list names AWS in Australia, Germany, Canada or the United States. Referoo’s website doesn’t say. Koho keeps your database and files in Sydney.
Is Koho an alternative to Xref and Referoo?
For reference checks, yes: Koho sends your questions, reminds referees and files the answers. Unlike them it doesn’t run background or ID checks or connect to an ATS yet, and it also handles CV formatting, terms of business, candidate registration and market notes.
05Sources
Each checked on 26 October 2026.
References, without the chasing.
Koho sends your question set, reminds referees on day 3 and day 7, and puts their answers on the candidate’s file.